I love Nickel Creek

Even though they didn’t sing this song at the concert I just attended (YEAY for Downtown Disney HOB)! They sang everything else I could’ve wanted…I love seeing true, passionate musicians live and in a small venue: they always add something to their songs–a reworked bridge, a hilarious addition (like “short people” woven into “the house of Tom Bombadil), or a funny story about how/why the song was written.

I love the lyrics to “Doubting Thomas”…

Sometimes I pray for a slap in the face
Then I beg to be spared cause I’m a coward <–OK SERIOUSLY… who hasn’t done this??

If there’s a master of death
I bet he’s holding his breath
As I show the blind and tell the deaf about his power <–how DOES God keep Himself from just doing what He wants done when and how he wants it, rather than working thru us?


I’m a doubting Thomas
I can’t keep my promises
Cause I don’t know what’s safe
Oh me of little faith

Can I be used to help others find truth <–can I? When I’m so flawed and clueless?

When I’m scared I’ll find proof that it’s a lie
Can I be led down a trail dropping bread crumbs
That prove I’m not ready to die
Please give me time to decipher the signs
Please forgive me for time that I’ve wasted <– yes . . . please
I’m a doubting Thomas
I’ll take your promise
Though I know nothin’s safe
Oh me of little faith

Leave a comment

Filed under processing, quotes

Leave a Reply

