mmmm. pumpkin pasta

This turned out beautifully! The sauce is silky & light with a beautiful, autmnal color. Best of all, I finished the entire dish in 30 minutes! The recipe is from Rachel Ray’s newest book: 365:No Repeats.  As more proof that 27 is my lucky number, guess what # this recipe is? :)

I made it low fat and high fiber using lowfat Chicken Sausage w/ Sweet Bell Peppers from Trader Joe’s and Multi-Grain, High Protein/High Fiber Pasta by Barilla. The recipe calls for Penne Pasta but I prefer angel hair.

Pumpkin Pasta w/ Sausage & Wild Mushrooms

2 Tbs EVOO

1 lb sweet Italian Sausage (I used lowfat Chicken Sausage w/ Sweet Bell Peppers from Trader Joe’s, chopped them roughly to brown the meat, then pulsed the meat quickly in a food processor to get it to a nice crumbly texture)

1/4 lb shitake mushrooms (I used TJ’s freeze dried shitakes, since they’re so easy to keep on hand, rehydrated)

2 portobello mushroom caps (I used freeze dried white mushrooms, rehydrated)

3 garlic cloves (I used 1 cuz I hate garlic)

1 medium yellow onion, chopped (I used TJs pre-diced onion)

Salt & freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup dry white wine (I didn’t have any, so I skipped it)

1 cup chicken stock or broth (I used low sodium, fat free canned)

1 14 oz can pumpkin puree

1/2 cup half & half

2-3 tbs freshly sliced sage leaves(I skipped this)

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

1 pinch ground cinnamon (I put two good sized pinches)

Chives to garnish, & grated Parmigiano-Reggiano to taste

Bring large pot of h20 to a boil.

meanwhile, heat a deep skillet over medium high heat. Add the EVOO and sausage. Brown the sausage  and crumble with a wooden spoon. Move the sausage to one side of the pan and add the mushrooms, garlic, and onions to the other side of the pan. Cook until the mushrooms brown, then season with salt and pepper. Combine sausage & vegetables and deglaze the pan with wine. Add the chicken stock and heat for 1 minute. Stir in the pumpkin and incorporate it. It’ll be thick. Stir in the 1/2 & 1/2 , sage, nutmeg, and cinnamon and adjust the salt & pepper. Reduce the heat to low. Cook Pasta ’til al dente, and serve over pasta.

The recipe allegedly serves 4 but it serves more like 6.

ENJOY!! This was amazing just on it’s own, but I’m sure a nice salad or light soup would compliment it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “mmmm. pumpkin pasta

Leave a Reply

