snowglobe o’ stars

…have you ever felt like you were standing on one of those snowglobes that children play with? If your answer is “no”, don’t feel badly :)…I hadn’t either ’til last week, when we went to AZ to see my paternal side of the family and my best friend.

Luckily, we were able to leave on Friday night, around 7:30. I LOVE DRIVING AT NIGHT!!! I enjoy it so much that I actually got giddy for the first 3 hours of the trip, laughing at basically anything, particularly at the WunderHusband. (it’s not my fault! part of my giddiness was from him using a new travel pillow we bought for car trips–it’s a large, grey horseshoe shaped creation that one slips around one’s neck. Whenever I looked  over at him wearing it, he looked like he had these enormous elephant ears on).

On the way there, we pulled over to the side of a freeway entrance behind 2 huge semi trucks and got out to look at the stars(!!!). Sadly, I couldn’t take pictures…What we saw was literally breathtaking. There was absolutely no light pollution, no humidity, and no cloud-cover. So, the stars were out in full force…and we could see them all the way down to the edge of the horizon! There were actually more stars than dark space.

Looking around, I saw a huge, half-globe canopy of stars, almost like I was standing in a bubble that someone had rolled in stars and plunked me down in the middle of.Or, like it was snowing stars all around me, just very, very slowly.

I’ve been trying to think of something to compare the starlight to, and have come to the conclusion that there’s no exact comparison. Starlight is definitely its own animal. There’s the old “like a diamond in the sky”…doesn’t work for me at all. Diamonds just sit there and look gorgeous–and they have a sharper sparkle, as it were. Stars have a very dynamic shimmering quality …but there’s also a solidity to their light. Ergh. Someday I’ll figure out a better way to say that…or I’ll find an author who already has. :)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “snowglobe o’ stars

  1. Pingback: The Nick Family.com » Snowglobe o’ Stars

Leave a Reply

