How to eat 25-30 grams of fiber per day…

EFFORTLESSLY!

Well, if you have a Trader Joe’s that you can get to, it’s ridiculously easy. A friend of mine asked me to put together a list of some of my favorite high fiber foods. So, I thought I’d share it here!

These are all found at Trader Joe’s, except for the frozen yogurt and Triscuits

  • Greens with Envy (a delicious veggie mixture)
    • (VERY good steamed)–1 cup has around 4 grams of fiber
    • In the freezer section
  • Prunes (non-sorbate are the best) (3 grams/serving)
  • Edamame (3-5 grams/ serving)
    • but not everyone likes the taste! :)
  • TLC (Tasty Little Crackers), original 7 grain (2g/serving)–LOW CALORIE
  • Triscuit Originals or low sodium version (3g/serving)
  • Organic Raisin Bran Clusters
    • (NINE GRAMS of fiber/cup!!)–and the even better part? NO NUTS, so everyone can eat this. :)
  • Black, Pinto, or Garbanzo Beans (canned) (5 grams/ 1/2 cup)
  • Green Peas (canned) (3 grams/ 1/2 cup)
  • Spinach
    • (I use it in salads instead of lettuce) (5 grams/ 3 cups of loosely packed raw spinach)
  • Lentils
    • (pre-cooked in TJ’s fridge section–eat ‘em like beans or just make a soup with them, and take it for lunch) (5 grams/ 1/2 cup)
  • Whole Baby corn (6 grams/3 oz)
    • Easy to add to salads or snack on!
  • Canned Pumpkin has as much fiber as beans (they all have 5-6 g/ 1/2 cup)
    • It’s great in a smoothie whipped with vanilla frozen yogurt (fat free, reduced sugar) and pumpkin pie spice.
  • Certain reduced fat and/or low sugar Frozen Yogurts have 2-4 grams of fiber/serving b/c it’s part of the stabilizing ingredients. (Dryer’s and Walmart house brand are the highest that I’ve noticed).
  • TJ’s meatless meatballs have 4 grams of fiber/serving of 6 meatballs. Plus, they have TONS of protein.

BOTTOM LINE:
Lots of “whole” foods–like whole veggies, beans, lentils, etc.– give you tons of fiber with fairly low calorie and fat counts. They also make you feel VERY full, and are fairly non-perishable (e.g., EASY TO TAKE FOR LUNCH). :)

SAMPLE MENU:
I’ve found the TJ’s Raisin bran clusters to be a life saver–SO EASY to eat 1 cup of delicious cereal and get NINE grams of fiber.

Remember: the goal for an adult is 25-30 grams per day. So, if you start off with 1/3 of your goal already done, you’re set! :)

Then, I eat at least a cup of beans (another 10 grams), then snack on some prunes (another 3 grams) and some Triscuit or TLC crackers (another 3 grams) and I’m already up to 25 grams of fiber, not counting the serving of Greens with Envy or the salad I plan to eat with dinner…. or the Pumpkin Smoothie I could have for dessert.

Note: I often have the raisin bran for dinner or a late night snack, since it’s low calorie, good for me, and since I’m sometimes rushing out the door and need something more portable to eat in the car for breakfast.

12 Comments

Filed under cooking, eat more fiber, health

12 responses to “How to eat 25-30 grams of fiber per day…

  1. Pingback: Mmmmm. More Fiber Tips « Stars, Camouflage, a Dash of Sparkle

  2. Appreciate you sharing this list. Its very useful.

    Could I request you to further it by listing the Fresh Grocers’ equivalent of the recommended products. It’d be helpful for those not in Trader Joe’s country.

    Only if you have it handy and got the time.

    Best,
    wirefree

  3. Pingback: Boosting your metabolism « SLO Healthy Student's Blog

  4. Winona Johson

    Thank you for this awesome list!
    I am so grateful that you shared it!

    Thanks again!

  5. Terri

    Love your list. Tried the organic granola clusters with soy milk (I can’t have milk) and its delicious! Thanks!

  6. Wow! Thanks! I already get some of those items regularly. I always have edamame, fresh spinich and the, oh my god, best lentils ever. My 2 year old loves them also. I use them in soup, salad and pasta with fresh garlic and olive oil, yum….. I am going to add some of your other recommendations. Much appreciated!

  7. Good blog post. I absolutely appreciate
    this site. Keep it up!

  8. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually
    something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  9. Great start for a high fiber diet. Then, to keep from getting bored, need different recipes to dress up the beans to refresh your taste buds.

Leave a Reply

