“happiness is a sad song”

“Happiness is a sad song.”

This is/was one of my favorite quotes (attributed to Charles Schultz, creator of Snoopy).

But lately, for some reason (probably a combination of personal growth and  simply moving into another phase of married, adult life) I’ve been craving bits of happier, more joyous fare.

Don’t get me wrong…I still adore my angst-ridden, broken-hearted-girl music. :) But there’s a part of me now that can appreciate bubbly, lilting songs that extol the praises of a happy connection with another (did ya like that nice, subtle allusion to Colbie Caillat’s current hit single?)  ;)

Any suggestions for non-cloying, “happy” music?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““happiness is a sad song”

  1. Mindy

    I have no idea what your current style of music is, so I pulled up Colbie Caillat on itunes. I like the Bubbly song, but I don’t know music in that genre to recommend.

    Nevertheless, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to share my two favorite “Happy” songs. These are not about happiness in love with another person, but I think that are fun, uplifting songs. And well, if you don’t like them, that is okay.

    “Happy Girl” – Martina McBride (County)
    “Happy” – Ayiesha Woods (Christian Pop)

    (As a side note, Martina’s Greatest Hits is the only country CD I own. Although I pretty much just listen to “Happy Girl” she has some other good songs on it.)

    One more thing I feel like sharing even though it isn’t what you asked for: My current favorite music is happy jazz (without words so I can study to it). When I listen to the following song, I can’t help but smile.

    “Ma! He’s Making Eyes At Me” – Gene Harris
    (This guy is my very favorite jazz musician.)

    :)

  2. Oh, Mindy, I LOVE JAZZ! But I don’t know enough about it to find good stuff–THANK YOU for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

