craving the extraordinary

I’ve been thinking about my college experience recently. It was one of the most positive, life-changing, eye-opening, painful, beautiful experiences I’ve yet to have. I was pondering what a great time of life it was and reflecting on how I am definitely past that phase. No going back. Even better things to come.

A few nights ago, I dreamed that I went back to Biola University as a freshman. As present-day me.

And it was oh so ummm, well…off. And wrong.

I was back in Hart Hall, with 2 roommates and a new lounge (painted a really gorgeous sage green). My boyfriend from that time met me in my room (sooo not allowed in real life), and we were chatting. And then I said to him: “I’m so glad I didn’t marry you” (don’t you love dreams?) while thinking to myself “You’re so much more pompous than I remember you being”.

All sorts of other surreal, dream like things occurred, but the main thread of the dream was that I simply didn’t belong back there and that trying to regress even to a wonderful past phase of life is still unhealthy and won’t bring happiness.

Thanks for that reminder God. Now what am I to do with that?

On another note: I’ve realized that I am desperately craving close, regular contact with creative, motivated learners. I hate that as a grown up and part of a married couple, my default social activities with the Wunderhub and other couples seem to be limited to eating out, playing video games, and watching movies.

Don’t get me wrong: I adore our friends and am thrilled with any little chunk of time we can carve out of life’s craziness to spend together. I love the conversations that occur over a lovely meal that we’ve prepared with a friend in their home or ours.

[Side note:  As ancient as this makes me sound, I love playing board games that stimulate competition and great conversations.]

Aaaaaand…I realize that creative activities for a group take thought, advance planning, and mental effort. And often, we all just want to relax together and simply enjoy one another’s presence, usually on very short notice.

It’s also tough to sync up activities that males and females both enjoy.

And it’s my bad for not taking the initiative to be more creative and offer alternative activites. I’m definitely guilty of taking the easy way out and proposing the old stand-by activities.

I guess Ghandi’s admonishment to “be the change you wish to see in the world” applies here in spades. :)

So, here’s to all the fun and crazy mistakes I know I’ll make in this endeavor, and here’s hoping that my energy and creativity levels can sustain it! :)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “craving the extraordinary

  1. I’m a fan for long walks in the woods. And picnics–easy!

Leave a Reply

