Kyrie Eleison.

Lord Have Mercy. Christ Have Mercy. Lord Have Mercy.

It’s one of those days where the mixture of sublime beauty and profound tragedy that is life is weighted too much on the sadness end of the scale.

Yet through it all, there is still so much love.

My heart is heavy for Kirsten, James and baby Ewan and the suffering that they’re enduring. My heart is heavy for other dear friends suffering from stress, separation from loved ones, financial woes, and the ravaging effects of sickness and disease.

Yet, I can still feel the immense love present in the midst of all of this.

I remember when River was in the NICU and how the support, prayer and love that our friends, family, and church gave us was almost physically palpable. Every single day, people who loved us and people who cared about us helped carry us through the dark moments and onward. These people demonstrated compassion (co-suffering) in the truest sense of the word. They cried with us and kept praying, hoping, and just being present for us.

And that’s why I can cry out, not from a place of despair–though my heart breaks for these loved ones–but from a place of compassion: suffering with the ones I love because I love them. And knowing that somehow, the Creator of the Universe loves them more and more perfectly than I ever could. And so I cry out, Lord have mercy. Christ have mercy. Lord have mercy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

