New Food Endeavor

I’ve embarked on a New Endeavor: going gluten free and soy free. Also, eating as if I’m insulin resistant (no more than 30 carbs in any 2 hr period + linking carbs with protein when I eat). Oh! And eliminating 95% of refined sugar.

I’ve been doing this for 3 weeks and have been shocked at the difference in how I feel. I wasn’t expecting to feel any different. I chose the dietary changes as a long term means of combating my newly diagnosed Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis (more on this here).

Changes? No more bloating after meals. Ever.

I used to think that getting a bloated tummy after meals (of any size–tiny snacks or a big lunch) was just what happened whenever I ate something other than a smoothie. Apparently, I’ve had gluten sensitivity for quite some time now.

The Insulin Resistance method of eating is extremely simple to follow and is a gentle, effective reminder to avoid mindless eating and to maintain portion control of high carb/low nutrient foods.

I’ve also cut out 95% of refined sugar. I still eat some super-dark chocolate, and I use tiny bits of honey and agave as sweeteners when needed. I just can’t stand Stevia. I bought it in 2 forms–powdered and liquid, and not only does it not truly sweeten things that I put it in, it leaves the WORST, bitter, chemical-ly after taste. Disgusting. I’d rather have the calories and nutrients of honey.

My doctor wants to test for Celiac–if I end up testing positive, I’ll have to be a lot stricter about being gluten free. For now, I’m avoiding gluten and not eating anything with wheat. However, I’m eating foods that don’t contain gluten but that are processed in factories that also process wheat, etc. For someone with Celiac, it’s supposed to be important to avoid as much cross-contamination like that as possible.

I’m also surprised at how do-able it is to eat GF. When I go out, there’s virtually nothing I can eat at fast food places other than salads, but that’s OK. I almost never went to fast food places anyway.

At home, though, as long as I cook primarily Asian/Mexican (sans wheat tortillas, of course) or Indian, there are virtually no changes to be made other than an occasional substitution of arrowroot or cornstarch for flour as a thickener. And, I’m able to eat “whole” foods, not a bunch of processed, bizarre substitutions.

Giving up soy was a drag for me, but I’ve essentially replaced it with quinoa. While I haven’t attempted to make quinoa milk yet, I’m relying heavily on quinoa as my protein and iron rich “fast” food. It’s nice that River loves it too (she calls it “rice”), so we generally have a quinoa dish together at lunch.

There is a wealth of wonderful information online via GF bloggers. What I’m hoping to do now is to find a wonderful recipe for GF bread that I can make at home (I’m not much of a fan of Udi’s as the quality varies too much between batches).

At the top of my “TRY THIS!” list is “The Mother-loaf” from Open-Ended Question. It looks outrageously yummy. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

I’ve already been extremely happy with the “GF Berry Shortcake”  from Simply Sugar and Gluten Free that I made for our 4th of July dessert.

And, as always, Meghan Telpner of Making Love in the Kitchen remains my go-to girl for creative, whole-food, minimal-grain, gluten free, incredibly tasty goodness. :)

5 Comments

Filed under 2011, gluten free, health, refined sugar free, soy free, Thyroid

5 responses to “New Food Endeavor

  1. Alex

    Thanks Mircat! I’ve since tweaked the recipe a ton since I’ve posted that one, but the original is still tasty.

    Let me know how it turns out! :)

  2. Thanks so much for trying my Shortcake and sharing it with your readers! Wishing you the best of luck on your journey…I try to steer clear of soy. I’m not ‘soy-free’ but I eat as little as possible and don’t use it in my kitchen.

    Hugs,
    Amy

  3. Wow, I hear you on the bloating thing. I’m so glad you’re finding something that works for you! I have experimented so much with the food thing… I refuse to believe that there’s not an answer out there, probably related to dietary options. My Dad, after decades of health problems, has found his solution… but it didn’t work for me as well as it did for him. Are you also dairy free? Also, can you eat unlimited amounts of fruits and veggies with no problems?

    • Hi Sarah! Thanks for reading and thanks for the great questions. Thus, far, I haven’t found a limit for fruits and veggies (and I’ve been eating a TON of fruit). I think this is because I probably don’t have an intestinal damage yet, so I’m not fiber-sensitive. Hypothyroid patients are cautioned against over-consumption of cruciferous veggies (broccoli, spinach, etc), but I’m not paying a ton of attention to that, b/c it’s not proven and I really love my greens.

      I’m also, sadly, wondering if I’ll need to eliminate my beloved oats. Even using gluten free oats causes me some stomach discomfort. Not a lot, but enough to give me pause. BUMMER, b/c I REALLY love my morning super oatmeal.

      No, I’m not dairy free, though the only dairy I consume is some occasional yogurt and cheddar or mozzarella cheese. I’ve pretty much cut out aged cheeses b/c they can sometimes trigger awful, migraine-like headaches.

      Yes, the bloating thing subsiding has been such a shocking, wonderful side effect. I had no idea how much bloating I was experiencing until it went away. Even now, a few weeks later, I still find myself pushing on my stomach in awe at how NOT bloated it is.

      I REALLY hope you find something that works for you. As I recall, you’re vegan? I love vegan food, but for now, vegan + gluten free + soy free is a bit too psychologically overwhelming to undertake, plus I currently need some heme (animal sourced) iron to replenish my stores, and I don’t have the patience to deal with sourcing extra iron from plants.

      The disappointment, currently, is that my energy levels are still unpredictable and much, MUCH lower than I would like. So, I still have some research and modifications to do. Best wishes on your quest. :)

  4. hellocara

    Thanks for the love, Mircat!

    Sounds you like are on a great health journey- glad my recipes can be of some help :) From experience, going gluten-free not only gets so much easier but you won’t ever look back. Keep us posted on how things go!

Leave a Reply

